lunchbox life: curry chicken salad on naan

Image

Ahhh, fragrant massaman yellow curry.  On one hand, curry powder takes me on a journey to my favorite Indian restaurants into a warm, full belly stupor of tikka masala, pakora with chutneys, and palak paneer.  On the other hand, it takes me to kitchens in the South where curried rice and curry chicken salad are in every cook’s repertoire.  While perusing Virginia Willis’ cookbook Bon Appetit, Y’allI learned that curry powder made its way into southern kitchens by way of port cities like Savannah, Charleston, and New Orleans where exotic spices were available.  Pretty nifty, huh?  I loved curry powder long before I had my first tandoori chicken, but I didn’t know why until now!  Here’s what I’m having for lunch this week.

Curry Chicken Salad on Naan

2 large pieces of whole grain naan bread, each piece cut in half

1 lb. shredded chicken breast

1 cup 0% fat free Greek yogurt (I love Fage brand)

2 stalks of celery, minced

about 1/2 cup of red seedless grapes, halved

2 Tbsp. curry powder

1 tsp. Kosher salt

1 tsp. cracked black pepper

4 Boston lettuce leaves (optional)

To assemble to chicken salad: in a large bowl, mix the chicken, grapes, and celery.  In a smaller bowl, mix the yogurt, curry powder, salt, and pepper.  Add the yogurt mixture to the chicken mixture and stir to combine.

To assemble: Lay out each piece of naan.  If using, layer a lettuce leaf on each piece, then scoop out about 1/2 cup of the chicken salad onto each piece of naan.

I’m having my chicken salad naan with sliced English hothouse (seedless) cucumber and red grapes.  Enjoy!

WWinfo: chicken salad–3pp; naan–4pp

One comment

Leave a Reply

