meatless monday: fried banana biscuits with arugula, alt-veg hash browns, mango, and steamed artichoke appetizer- JAM

Sweet, peppery, buttery... in a word, nomulous.

Sweet, peppery, buttery… in a word, nomulous.

Let me start by noting that the reason you missed MM and TT last week was due to this:

Best baby shower ever, so much homemade bbq

Best baby shower ever, so much homemade bbq

Now…I might have a strange taste and notion of what works as a meal sometimes. Thinking of a good dish for meatless monday yesterday and I couldn’t get the idea of a banana biscuit out of my head. I think it was mainly that I wanted to try a new biscuit recipe from my new book, but I thought I would give this flavor combo that I have never tried before a go. It turned out really well to my taste buds, let me know what you think.

I joined my sweet sandwich with a alt-veg hash brown with sweet potato, carrot, zucchini, parsnip, and asparagus (and some friends from Bungalow Garden). With some of my favorite potato approximations in my favorite potato delivery method seemed like a win in the old mental test kitchen, and I think it was the most successful dish of the meal.

I was also seduced by some delicious artichokes while at the market. I tried a Tyler Florence recipe http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/tyler-florence/steamed-whole-artichokes-recipe/index.htm. I think it was good, but the flavors could have been bolder. But can you blame me for buying this:

Bright green, vitamins.

Bright green, vitamins.

All told, this was a good supper.

Biscuits:

I really wanted to try one of Virginia Willis’s biscuit recipes and her Buttermilk angel biscuits did not disappoint. They use yeast, so they are certainly dinner biscuits, tasting buttery and gooey like a biscuit, while being yeasty and soft like a roll. Nom.

I also made the biscuits a little larger and thicker than she calls for, because I read in the Sunny point cafe cookbook “the correct thickness is the key to a stately biscuit.” I suppose that’s true, as shown by these photos.

B-Before B-After Pulled

Top this bad boy with bananas fried in butter and honey and some little cooked with garlic and pepper arugula, and you have a really nice dinner sandwich.

6 cups flour

1 package yeast (1/4 cup warm water, 1 tbls sugar)

3 tbls sugar

1 tbls baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup shortening

2+ cups of buttermilk

2 tbls butter, melted, to top biscuits.

THIS MUST BE DONE BY HAND!

The hash:

Wanting to avoid the overly starchy nature of breakfast foods and add vitamins to supper, I conceived an alt-veg hash featuring sweet potato. With the veggies, I threw in some chives and rosemary from the garden, and the customary salt, pepper and fresh garlic. Cook it on a hot griddle with just a bit of canola oil to fry it up. delicious.

It is kinda like waffle house.

It is kinda like waffle house.

2 medium sweet potatoes, grated

2 parsnips, grated

2 carrots, grated

1 zucchini, grated

1/2 lb asparagus, slivered with a peeler

herbs to taste.

1/8 cup canola oil per cooking

Mango:

If you have the chance to put fresh ripe mango on a plate, do it. I say.

Artichoke:

Using the Tyler Florence recipe was ok, but I would double down on the pepper and add some heat and garlic. It was ok, but unremarkable.

All told, make this meal for a tasty, colorful plate and a nice cap to monotonous Monday:

Plated

Leave a Reply

