lunchbox life: grilled chicken, zucchini, bell pepper, and goat cheese wraps

I hope everyone had a lovely Mother’s Day weekend!  We kicked off the weekend by attending my cousin’s wedding at the lovely Historic Banning Mills in Whitesburg, GA on Friday night.  On Saturday morning, we began our five-hour long zip line tour of the property.  If you have not been on a zip line before, you absolutely have to try it!  I’m still on an adrenaline high!

When we got home from all of the wedding and Mother’s Day festivities, Alex decided that he wanted to grill steaks on the Big Green Egg (our pride and joy).  I, of course, did not oppose this idea, and I suggested that he grill some chicken for me for this week’s lunches while the grill was hot.  Lucky me!

The marinade I used for my chicken breast was totally made up off the cuff, and you can prepare your chicken any way you like.  I let my chicken marinate for about an hour in the refrigerator with about 3 Tbsp. olive oil, 1 tsp. salt, 1 tsp. cracked black pepper, 2 minced garlic cloves, 3 dashes of Cholula hot sauce, and about 1 tsp. each of fresh sage, oregano, and thyme.

Grilled Chicken, Zucchini, Bell Pepper, and Goat Cheese Wraps

2 chicken breasts, grilled and seasoned

1 zucchini

2 bell peppers

4 oz. soft goat cheese

5 tortillas (I like La Tortilla Factory’s whole wheat, low carb tortillas)

cooking spray

Halve the zucchini lengthwise and throw it on the grill cut side down.  Flip at least once.  Do the same for the 2 bell peppers (I chose yellow and orange for a pretty color).

When the chicken is done, let it rest at room temperature for about 20 minutes before slicing it into 1/2-inch thick pieces.  Match the zucchini and bell pepper slices to the size of your chicken strips.

Image

Spread about 3/4 oz. of goat cheese on each tortilla.  Next, fill each tortilla with even amounts of chicken, zucchini, and bell pepper.  Fold tortillas burrito-style and set aside.

Image

Spray a medium pan with cooking spray and heat to medium-high heat.  Place the burrito fold-side-up onto the pan and set another smaller pan on top.  Place a large canned good item on top of the smaller pan (I used jellied cranberry sauce because, well, it was leftover from the holidays, but it doesn’t matter what you use).  After about 1 minute, remove the top pan, flip the wrap, and place the pan on top for another two minutes.

Image

*If you have a panini press, you can certainly use that instead.  I don’t have one, and this method works just fine!

Image

I’m having my grilled wraps with strawberries because they are in season right now and are super cheap at the grocery!  Thanks to my friend Melanie for the money-saving tip!

Image

Leave a Reply

