tasty tuesday: smoked turkey, pimiento cheese, and sriracha bacon sandwiches, fried okra, mashed sweet potatoes- JAM

It's not a Whopper, but I can see why you might be confused.

It’s not a Whopper, but I can see why you might be confused.

When I heard tale of sriracha bacon, I dreamed of this sandwich. A nice smoked turkey, pimiento cheese, and bacon, mmmm. There is a lot of flavor here, as the bacon spoke for itself and the rub of on the turkey provided some great notes against the creamy spice of the cheese. A thick slice of heirloom tomato rounded out the dish. I would have preferred ciabatta instead of the onion roll I used, but sometimes you are beholden to the whims of the grocer.

This is something that I definitely need to tweak some more, but this version is certainly good enough for repeat visits. It was my first adventure into homemade pimiento cheese or candied bacon, so honing the craft is necessary. What tweaks would you make to a sandwich like this?

Some notes on the Turkey:

I smoked the turkey on the egg the night before. I used a standard rub of sugar, salt, paprika, cayenne, garlic, and ground mustard.

whole turk

The tenderloins and thighs were one for about an hour at 200. They got a nice helping of Jack Daniels barrel chips and applewood for their trouble. The flavor and texture came out perfect, see:

sliced turk

The sweet potatoes were a nice compliment to the spice going on in the sandwich. I roasted medallions of the beautiful tuber that had been tossed in olive oil, salt, and cinnamon and then mashed them with just a dab of milk. Creamy and good.

The okra was also a first attempt for me. I think it was quite the success, with whole okra breaded in cornmeal, flour, and salt, pepper, and garlic. As someone who never ate okra as a kid, its clear I have some catching up to do!

All told it was a great meal, but I know I can make it better on repeat visits. I encourage you to make something similar on your own and let me know what you come up with!

Sandwich:

1/2 cup sliced smoked turkey, white and dark meat

2 spoonfulls of pimiento cheese of your choosing (I used a Palmetto Cheese approximation)

1 strip of sriracha candied back

1 slice of heirloom tomato

1 bun of choice

Grill sandwich until warm throughout.

Pimiento Cheese:

8 oz extra sharp cheddar

8 oz cream cheese

1/4 cup mayo

salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, cumin, curry powder, to taste

1 medium jalapeno, minced

4 oz jar of pimientos, drained.

Combine ingredients in a mixer with a paddle attachment.

Bacon:

For each strip of bacon, brush a healthy dose of sriracha on one side with pastry brush, sprinkle with brown sugar. Bake in over at 350 for about 20-25 mins.

Okra:

Dredge okra in a spiced flour mixture. Wash dredged okra in beaten egg and roll in the a cornmeal flour breading. Fry in canola oil over medium heat until golden brown. All of the spices are to taste. The cornmeal, flour ratio should be 1/1.

Mashed sweet potatoes:

3 whole sweet potatoes

2 tbls olive oil

salt and cinnamon to taste.

1/4 cup milk.

Cut the potatoes into discs and toss in oil and spices. Roast for 30 minutes or until soft. Mash with the milk until creamy.

Leave a Reply

