meatless monday: asparagus and tomato pizza- JAM

Eleta is here:

Yeah, I know.

Yeah, I know.

So I am manning Bungalow Kitchen solo this week. Doesn’t mean we can’t have a good meal right?

I’ve said it before, and I will say it again: When in doubt, trust The Smitten Kitchen and add garlic. I stand by that with with tonight’s pizza.

After you follow the linked recipe, set about with your toppings. I re-appropriated one of Mrs. Perelman’s recipes to create my cast of characters.

I started out with some nice, spring asparagus and slivered it like so:

It takes some getting used to.

It takes some getting used to.

Get as much asparagus as you would like and add a little salt and pepper and olive oil and set aside.

Once your dough has risen, flatten it out on a floured surface and brush the top with olive oil and garlic, like so:

Allow the oil to absorb the garlic for about 20 mins.

Allow the oil to absorb the garlic for about 20 mins.

Then, add a layer of parmesan cheese!

Pizza sauce? Pfftt.

Pizza sauce? Pfftt.

This will form the base for your pizza. Sauce would be too much here, and you’ll be glad you added all that garlic.

Now, you are ready to top. Add slices of tomato to your heart’s content and the asparagus from earlier. Add 1/2 lb of mozzarella slices and top with basil and any of your garlic and oil from earlier atop the cheese.

Aroma= Divine.

Aroma= Divine.

Now, place in the oven, preferably on a stone, though a foil covered cookie sheet will do (if you have an egg, go to town, but you’ll need the stone there! Mine is broken). If you use the stone, make sure the pizza is on a cornmeal dusted peel. Baked at 500 degrees until the cheese is melted and browning and the crust is crisp, about 13 mins.

I want PIZZA P-I-Z-Z-A.

I want PIZZA P-I-Z-Z-A.

Slice and enjoy!

3 comments

Leave a Reply

