meatless monday: roasted zucchini, black bean, and goat cheese enchiladas

Image

Greetings from your favorite year-round teacher!  Last week I returned from my happy place: the Magic Square (aka the Governor’s Honors Program).  Those of you who know me well know that I’m absolutely in love with the work we do with gifted and talented students, and if you don’t yet know, allow me to treat you to a beverage at happy hour so that I can wax nostalgic about my beloved summer program.  Last Thursday I returned to the land of real school, and while I’m finally getting in that new-school-year-spirit, a piece of me is still in West Hall with my SocStuds and in Brown Hall with the ping pong mafia of my fellow faculty members.

There is no doubt, however, that I certainly missed our kitchen.  Dining hall food, while economical, is certainly not my favorite.  Tonight’s dish was so, so yummy and will definitely be recreated.  This is a great example of a hearty meatless dish that packs a big nutrition punch, and the cool and crispy toppings definitely help brighten up the meal!  Enjoy!

Roasted Zucchini, Black Bean, and Goat Cheese Enchiladas

Adapted from Sprouted Kitchen

Serves 4

3 zucchini, chopped into 1/4 inch cubes

1 Tbsp. olive oil

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. garlic powder

4 oz. chevre (soft goat cheese)

1 can black beans, drained

4 green onions, finely chopped

8 enchilada tortillas (corn or flour; I used a corn/flour hybrid)

12 oz. red enchilada sauce (I use Trader Joe’s--my favorite)

For topping: cubed avocado, chopped cilantro, chopped cucumber, squeeze of lime

Heat oven to 425 F.  Toss zucchini pieces with olive oil, salt, and garlic powder and place evenly on a roasting pan.  Roast for 20 minutes, set aside, and let cool to room temperature.

Turn oven temperature down to 375 F.  Mix the zucchini, 3/4 of the goat cheese, black beans, and green onions in a bowl.  This is the filling for the enchiladas.

Image

Using your gas or electric stovetop, lightly scorch the 8 tortillas on each side.  Pour half of the enchilada sauce into a 9×13 baking dish.  Fill each tortilla with filling and place them seam-side down in the baking dish.  Cover the middle 1/3 of the enchiladas with the remaining half of the enchilada sauce and top enchiladas wit the remaining 1/4 of the goat cheese.  Bake for 20 minutes and let cool for 5 minutes before serving.

I served these with some chopped romaine thinly dressed with some leftover enchilada verde sauce and the cucumber, avocado, lime, and cilantro.

Image

2 comments

Leave a Reply

