lunchbox life: eggplant lasagna

Image

Oops–it’s Tuesday and I’m just now blogging my lunches.  Better late than never, I suppose!

If you’re a primal/paleo/caveperson/lowcarb/trendy eater, you will certainly appreciate this dish.  I made a pretty basic lasagna here, but I changed two things: ground turkey instead of ground beef (I do this already) and eggplant slices instead of lasagna noodles.

“BUT NO!,”  You say.  “Noodles are the best part!,” you implore.  I know, I know, but here’s the deal–if I ate a pasta dish every day at lunch this week, I’d be totally snoozing during my afternoon classes.  Another thing is this: I LOVE eggplant and my dearest and darling-est husband definitely does not.  Not even eggplant parmesan.  Needless to say, when I can make it for myself, I’m ready and willing!

The only real trick here is the eggplant itself.  Select an eggplant that is tall and narrow, cut off the purple skin, and slice it lengthwise about the thickness of a cooked lasagna noodle.

Eggplant Lasagna

1 eggplant, sliced thinly lengthwise

1 lb. ground turkey

1 onion, halved and sliced thinly

1 pkg. sliced white mushrooms

3 garlic cloves, minced

1 jar pasta sauce of your choice (I used Trader Joe’s Puttanesca)

1 Tbsp. olive oil

2 Tbsp. chopped herbs of your choice (I used rosemary, thyme, sage, and oregano)

1 lb. fresh mozzarella, sliced about 1/8-inch thick

Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Heat olive oil over medium-high heat and add the onions and a dash of salt.  Cook the onions for about 7 minutes or until translucent, then add the mushrooms and garlic and cook for another 5 minutes.  Next, add the ground turkey and herbs and cook until the meat is done.

Select a 9×13 baking dish and pour about 1/4 of the pasta sauce into the dish.  Fill the bottom with a single layer of eggplant slices, then add about 1/3 of the turkey mixture, then about 1/3 of the sliced cheese.  Repeat twice more in the following order: sauce, eggplant, turkey, cheese.  Bake for about 30 minutes or until cheese begins to brown and the dish begins to bubble.

Make sure you let the dish cool before you cut into portions.  This makes six generous servings that you can feel good about–lean protein and veggies with a part-skim cheese?  You can’t beat it!

Leave a Reply

