wild card wednesday: smoked salmon flatbread with caramelized red onion, capers, and whipped dill cream cheese

Image

New month, new challenge!  This month’s challenge is fish, and Alex has clarified that shellfish does not count.  This has me both excited and nervous; I love fish and order it frequently at restaurants, but I worry about overcooking it at home.  Tonight I cheated because I used already smoked salmon, but in my defense, I had a community meeting this evening.  Either way, I was very pleased with the outcome!  Tonight’s dish is a dressed up version of the classic Jewish bagel breakfast of lox and cream cheese with red onion and capers.  I don’t care for raw red onions, so I caramelized them (a new obsession).  I used whipped cream cheese (Philadelphia brand) instead of its thicker cousin.  I could have used creme fraiche, but I didn’t have all of the time in the world.

I used Publix pizza dough–another fantastic shortcut!  I think this dish would also be great cut into smaller pieces as a savory and tart addition to your hors d’oeuvres table.

Smoked Salmon Flatbread with Caramelized Red Onion, Capers, and Whipped Dill Cream Cheese

1 Publix refrigerated pizza dough

1 Tbsp. cornmeal

1 Tbsp. olive oil

1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese

1 red onion, halved and sliced

2 Tbsp. butter

8 oz. nova smoked salmon, torn into pieces

4 oz. whipped cream cheese

2 Tbsp. chopped fresh dill

2 Tbsp. capers

Ahead of time, melt butter in a saucepan over medium heat, then add the sliced red onion.  Over about an hour’s time, stir the onions every 10 or so minutes.  Set aside.

Stir the dill and cream cheese together, then set aside.

Heat the oven to 500 degrees.  Roll out the pizza dough to about 1/4 inch thickness.  Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper, sprinkle with cornmeal, then place the flat dough on top.  Brush with olive oil and top evenly with parmesan cheese.  Bake for about 7 minutes or until it begins to brown.

Take pizza out of the oven and top with salmon and capers.  Dot the pizza with lumps of the dill cream cheese.  Place back in the oven for about 4 more minutes.  Take out, slice, and eat!

Leave a Reply

