tasty tuesday: spicy cajun shrimp and rice

I’m back in the kitchen again. It’s the first time I have cooked since Thanksgiving (which featured another great smoked bird and from scratch green bean casserole from me– I don’t think I can go back to canned!), and that is largely due to our being on the Historic Vineville Christmas Tour where I wasn’t allowed to cook because I like to cook with “chefless abandon”. If there is one thing I am great at making, its a mess.

Needless to say, our house looks amazing with all of the Christmas stuff. Eleta and her mom did a fine job making it look festive and classic. I helped with the heavy and high up stuff.

But anyway, on to the main event. Tonight’s supper is brought to you by not having enough time in the day. I had a meeting that went until 7 and I had one idea when I went to the store– Shrimp. The results were excellent!

Spicy Cajun Shrimp and Rice

1 lb gulf shrimp
1 1/2 cup dry rice
3 cups water
1/4 cup chopped okra, chopped
1/2 cup plum tomatoes, halved
1 green chile, chopped
1 bunch green onions, chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced
3 tbsp chopped parsley
1 can hot chili beans
Cajun seasoning (Cayenne, Paprika, Onion Powder, Chili P, Salt, Black and Red Pepper)
1 tbsp butter
1/4 cup olive oil

So, this is a lot easier if you happen to have a rice cooker. If you don’t have one, maybe you should look into one at Robinson Home, downtown Macon’s newest store selling excellent kitchen wares. If you have one, start your rice in it with the rice and water, otherwise cook the rice on the stovetop by boiling the water and simmering the rice for about 45 mins (I used brown rice which takes longer).

Next, pre-cook the okra with olive oil and salt and pepper. Sautee in a dutch oven for about five minutes while doing something else, so having a drink. Remove from pan.

Heat the rest of the oil and butter in the pan until the butter browns slightly. Add the cajun seasoning and the shrimp, peeled, for about a minute on medium heat. Lower heat and add the chile, tomatoes, garlic, onions, and okra to the pan and stir.

It actually fits with the decor.

It actually fits with the decor.

Cook about 3 minutes until flavors have combined. Stir in the beans and cooked rice and stir. Add parsley and cook for another minute. Serve in a bowl and garnish with parsley and a lemon wedge. Eat.

Quick, spicy, tasty.

Quick, spicy, tasty.

__

I can’t express how nice it was to be back in the kitchen and cooking. It is amazing how much you can grow to love it. It really is a joy, especially to cook something that is somewhat back to my roots (some may have noticed I was born in the Louisiana in this article). Enjoy, y’all.

Leave a Reply

