lunchbox life: buffalo-ed chicken salad

Image

Happy Super Bowl week, everyone!  Just kidding, I have no interest in the game–who’s playing in it again?  One thing I do enjoy about Super Bowl parties, however, is the food (duh), and every football fan knows that they’re not worth their salt if they don’t include buffalo chicken dip or wings in their spread.  They should also know the guilt they feel the next day after scarfing down tons of junk food–don’t we all?

If you are a chicken salad fan like me, you’re probably always in the market for new recipes.  I’ve seen several takes on buffalo chicken salad in magazines and on Pinterest, but I’ve not made it before today.  I have to tell you that I am pretty excited about this week’s lunch hour (or, 25 minutes in teacher world).  This tastes like such an indulgence, but it’s really not–instead of mayonnaise or sour cream, I used 0% fat Greek yogurt.  Most restaurants mix melted butter with their buffalo sauce for extra thickness and depth of flavor, but I leave that out here, and I can’t tell the difference.  This is such an easy recipe, and it will have you ready to cheer on whichever team you support this Sunday!

I served this chicken salad on a bed of greens with some blue cheese crumbles and a side of baby carrots, but you could also serve it as a sandwich.  Enjoy!

Buffalo-ed Chicken Salad

1 store-bought rotisserie chicken

4 celery stalks, small diced

2 green onions, chopped

1 cup 0% Greek yogurt

1 cup buffalo sauce (I used Frank’s Red Hot Buffalo)

salt and pepper

Removing the skin and bones, pick the meat off of the rotisserie chicken and place in a medium mixing bowl.  Make sure that the chicken is evenly torn and pulled.  Add the other ingredients, stir to combine, and serve atop greens, in a pita pocket, or on a sandwich roll.  Enjoy!

3 comments

  1. I was curious, why Frank’s hot sauce? I find that way to salty and use Texas Pete. We really enjoy your blog, you are definitely a “foodie” and not only share great recipes but also the pics are good. Keep on sharing!

    1. Thank you so much! I’m just partial to Frank’s, but this recipe is so flexible that Texas Pete or any buffalo sauce will work. Some people prefer more or less heat or salt, so make it your own and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

